Nursing Rivalry: It Needs To Stop

                                                  
I’ve noticed lately that some BSN nurses (not all) tend to look down their noses at LPNs and even ADNs. What brought on this post? I read something on allnurses.com and noticed nurses replying to the article. I couldn’t believe some of the comments and how nasty the nurses acted towards one another.  Sometimes I feel like there is a lot of title boasting that goes on in nursing. I think that nurses need to get rid of that attitude to provide the best patient care possible. Who cares if you’re a LPN or RN? You both take nursing boards to get your license. So the LPN vs RN fighting needs to stop. I think that getting the most education you can is important. On the other hand, I do not agree with nurses demeaning other nurses who don’t have the same educational background that they have. Everyone starts out at a different level. We just have to learn how to work together and put our issues to the side. I think once that happens the nursing profession will improve. 

I’m hoping that I do not offend anyone. I’m not saying that all BSN nurses act this way. I know and follow some great BSN nurses on Twitter. I’m just saying that some of the BSN nurses that replied to the article had nasty attitudes about LPNs and ADNs.  I just think that no nurse should look down on another nurse. We all know nursing school is hard period. It doesn’t matter if you’re in a LPN, ADN, or BSN program it’s hard. We all have to work our asses off to earn that nurse title. I just hope that one day this bullying and fighting will end. 
–ThatNursingChic 

8 thoughts on “Nursing Rivalry: It Needs To Stop

  1. I hope it ends someday too. I think this rivalry is everywhere. Here, some matrons badmouth BSN students, the diploma students dance to the tune and that’s how the hatred begins till whenever. It really should stop and the change should start from Nursing HEADS to the junior ones and also the students. Nice post babe.

  2. Well said! And yes, the title boasting has been around for as long as I’ve been a nurse (and probably much longer). It really comes down to those with a sense of entitlement on their ‘title’ (pun intended).
    You hit the nail on the head, with everyone working together as a team. Role delineation does not give anyone the right to demean or detract another team members contribution to our patient’s care.
    Kudos to you for speaking out!

  3. I am incredibly proud of you and your point of view (and I have never met you😊). Remember always how you feel right now, so that you can be a part of the change in nursing. I have a feeling we are going to see great things from you! ~GALA_CRNA

Leave a Reply

